The fear of change and how to overcome it

GeorgianaMuntean
3 min readOct 13, 2021

--

Change, by definition, means replacing something with something else. So when does this simple fact turn into something that seems to scare us, make us resist it and postpone it in an illusory way?

For me it starts with “else”. That simple word, added to “something” seems to trigger a full story that I, with my gift of thinking, project on what is called “future”.

It may seem that “else” already exists but it is put aside for others, for people who seem to know more and do more. And then I realize, what if the main thing is actually to be more? Because, if that is the case, nobody IS more than anybody. We all are. What we add after that word is just our imagination, an imagination in which we are creative, talented, skilled, successful, courageous or, on the contrary: (feel free to add all the bad things you think you are, I do not think that and therefore, for me what you add is not real even though to you it might seem like a big deal).

The different side of the coin called “else” seems to be the belief that “else” does not already exist and I have to create it. It is my responsibility to figure everything out in which case I bump into the same thoughts of talented, creative etc. just so that I can say “well, not me actually”.

The story can go on and on, the exploration never ends unless I get so tired that I just want to go home. I bet you know how that feels or at least you have seen children dragging their mom’s hand and screaming from the top of their lungs “I (don’t) want to go home”.

The fun part of being an adult is that I don’t have to wait until my whole body is screaming that I went far far away so I can decide to return.

And when I do return, I see once again what I seemed to have had glimpses of, I see the Being that is whole and resourceful, unlimited and unbothered by any words. And while this may seem stagnant, it is not. It is the spring of change, of new, of fresh. It is where all resistance to the scary thoughts of change and unknown fall apart and life seems to flow its natural course. And I could tell you so much about it but it would not be true, the truth is before my words and you have to see it for yourself.

But what I can do is launch an invitation: if you want to change something in your life, go home! The right action will pop up before you know it. You don’t have to force yourself to do anything, you just will because it comes with the sense of “right”, right for that exact moment and that exact situation.

If there are changes in your life that you want to explore together or you need someone to walk you home, feel free to contact me.

--

--